Friday, 17 November 2023 05:02

22 Justices of Appeal Court nominated for elevation to Supreme Court. These are the nominees

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

Twenty-two Justices of the Court of Appeal have been nominated by the Federal Judicial Service Commission (FJSC), for elevation to the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

Consequently, FJSC has sent the list of the 22 nominees to the National Judicial Council (NJC) for ratification and onward recommendation to President Bola Tinubu.

The names of the nominees were revealed in an FJSC document released on Thursday.

The nominees include the chairman of the defunct Presidential Election Petitions Court (PEPC), Haruna Tsammani, who hails from Bauchi State.

The North-Central region has six nominees, while the South-West and South-South regions have two nominees each. The South-East region also has six nominees, and the North-East has two nominees.

The development is coming after the retirement of Amina Augie and Mohammed Dattijo, which left the Supreme Court with only 10 serving Justices.

While some of the nominees were tagged ‘Priority’, others were tagged ‘Reserve’. By implication, the ‘reserve’ nominees are alternate nominees in case of any eventuality.

See the full list of the 22 nominated Justices below:


1. Nwaoma Uwa (Abia State) – Priority

1A. Onyekachi Otisi (Abia State) – Reserve

2. Obande Ogbuinya (Ebonyi State) – Priority

2A. Theresa Orji-Abadua (Imo State) – Reserve

3. Anthony Ogakwu (Enugu State) – Priority

3A. Chioma Nwosu-lheme (Imo State) – Reserve


1. Moore Adumein (Bayelsa State) – Priority

1A. Biobele Georgewill (Rivers State) – Reserve


1. Adewale Abiru (Lagos State) – Priority

1A. Olubunmi Oyewole (Osun State) – Reserve


1. Jummai Sankey (Plateau State) – Priority

1A. Justice Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo (Plateau) – Reserve

2. Stephen Adah (Kogi State) – Priority

2A. Ridman Maiwada Abdullahi (Nassarawa State) – Reserve

3. Baba Idris (Niger State) – Priority

3A. Joseph Ikyegh (Benue State) – Reserve


1. Haruna Tsammani (Bauchi State) – Priority

1A. Abubakar Talba (Adamawa State) – Reserve


1. Muhammad Lawal Shuaibu (Jigawa State) – Priority

1A. Bello Aliyu (Zamfara State) – Reserve

2. Abubakar Sadiq Umar (Kebbi State) – Priority

2A. Abdullahi Mahmud Bayero (Kano State) – Reserve



December 08, 2023

P&G, others’ exit from Nigeria paves way for ‘investors partnering with politicians’ - Atedo Peterside

Atedo Peterside, president and founder, Anap Foundation and Anap Jets, said investors who cherish the…
December 04, 2023

Nigeria’s electoral system so corrupt that ‘it's impossible for honest people to contest polls’ -…

Babangida Aliyu, a former governor of Niger state, says Nigeria’s corrupt electoral system has made…
December 08, 2023

3 things Taylor Swift just said as 'Person of the Year' that every leader should learn

On Wednesday, Time Magazine named Taylor Swift its Person of the Year, because, well, of…
December 02, 2023

Man suffering from headaches for 5 months discovers chopsticks stuck in his skull

A Vietnamese man who had been suffering from severe headaches and even loss of vision…
December 07, 2023

Gunmen waylay Kogi Election Tribunal officials, cart away petition documents

Kogi State Police Command yesterday confirmed that gunmen attacked the secretary of the state governorship…
December 08, 2023

Son of Israeli war cabinet minister killed in Gaza, IDF says

Master Sgt. (Res.) Gal Meir Eisenkot, 25, a combat soldier in the 551st reserve commando…
December 04, 2023

Google AI unveils Translatotron 3: A breakthrough in real-time speech translation

Researchers from Google AI have unveiled Translatotron 3, an innovative AI model that revolutionizes speech-to-speech…
November 20, 2023

Lackluster Nigeria held to 1-1 draw by Zimbabwe in World Cup qualifiers

Nigeria continued their stumbling start to the African 2026 World Cup qualifying campaign on Sunday…
Nothing to show. You must configure the data source of the widget.

NEWSSCROLL TEAM: 'Sina Kawonise: Publisher/Editor-in-Chief; Yomi Lawal: Director/Editorial Adviser; Prof Wale Are Olaitan: Editorial Consultant; Helen Aidenojie: Advert Manager; Femi Kawonise: Head, Production & Administration; Afolabi Ajibola: IT Manager; Contact us: [email protected] Tel/WhatsApp: +234 811 395 4049
Copyright © 2015 - 2023 NewsScroll. All rights reserved.