Monday, 20 March 2023 03:42

Sanwo-Olu, Buni, Makinde, 3 other governors win re-election

Rate this item
(0 votes)


Babajide Sanwo-Olu has been re-elected as the governor of Lagos State.

Sanwo-Olu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) was declared winner of Saturday’s governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in the early hours of Monday.

He secured a total of 762,134 votes against his main challengers — Olajide ‘Jandor’ Adediran of the PDP who polled 62,449 and Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the LP who got 312,329 votes.



INEC has declared Governor Mala Buni of Yobe as winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state.

INEC Returning Officer, Umaru Pate, a professor, announced the result in Damaturu, the state capital on Sunday.

Pate said Mr Buni of the All Progressives Congress (APC) polled 317,113 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Sherif Abdullahi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 124, 259 votes.

“That Buni Mai Mala of APC having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner of the election, and returned elected,” he said.

Pate, also the vice chancellor, Federal University Kashere in Gombe, said Garba Umar of the New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP) came a distant third with 14,246 votes, while Arabi Mohammed of the Action Alliance (AA) polled 3,260.



Governor Muhammadu Yahaya of Gombe State has won Saturday’s governorship election for a second term in office.

Yahaya of the All Progressives Congress (APC) polled 342,821 votes to beat the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Muhammad Jibiri Barde, who scored 233,131 votes.

The result declared by INEC’s returning officer, Maimuna Waziri, showed that the APC won the election with a margin of 74,493 votes.

Waziri, a professor and vice-chancellor of the Federal University of Gashua, said there were 1,575,794 registered voters in the state.

She added that 618,231 voters were accredited while the total votes cast in Saturday’s poll were 616745,

She announced that the total valid votes were 605,355, while a total of 11,390 votes were rejected.



Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has formally declared Governor Dapo Abiodun of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of the governorship election in Ogun State.

The INEC State Returning Officer in the state, Kayode Adebowale, who announced the result on Sunday, said the APC candidate scored 276,298 votes to emerge winner of the keenly contested election.

Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Ladi Adebutu, polled 262,383 votes to come second, thus trailing the winner with 13,915 votes.

Biyi Otegbeye of the ADC polled 94, 754 votes to come third.



Seyi Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won the governorship election in Oyo State.

Makinde was declared winner by the electoral commission, INEC, on Sunday in Ibadan, the state capital.

Makinde won in 31 local government areas with a total of 563,756 votes to defeat his closest rival, Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who won in two local government areas and scored 256,685 votes.

The governorship candidate of the Accord Party, Adebayo Adelabu, came third in the race with a total of 38,357 votes.

The total results were announced by INEC State Collation Officer, Adebayo Bamire.



Governor AbdulRazaq AbdulRahman has been declared winner of the governorship election in Kwara State.

INEC returning officer, Isaac Itodo, announced on Sunday that AbdulRazaq won in all 16 local government councils in the state.

Abdulrazaq, who contested on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), emerged as winner of the Saturday governorship election held in the state with a total of 273,424 votes.

Peoples Democratic Party, Yaman Abdullahi, polled 155,490 votes in the election while the Social Democratic Party (SDP) candidate, Alh. Hakeem Lawal trailed with 18,922 votes.

“Having satisfied the requirements of the law by scoring the highest votes of 273,424, I hereby declare AbdulRahaman AbdulRazaq of the APC as winner of the governorship election conducted on March 18, 2023,” Itodo declared.



NEWSSCROLL TEAM: 'Sina Kawonise: Publisher/Editor-in-Chief; Prof Wale Are Olaitan: Editorial Consultant; Femi Kawonise: Head, Production & Administration; Afolabi Ajibola: IT Manager;
Contact Us: [email protected] Tel/WhatsApp: +234 811 395 4049

Copyright © 2015 - 2024 NewsScroll. All rights reserved.