Friday, 28 January 2022 06:02

UAE lifts entry, transit ban on passengers from Nigeria, Ethiopia, 10 other African countries

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The United Arab Emirates will lift an entry and transit ban on Saturday on travellers who had recently visited South Africa, Kenya, Nigeria, Ethiopia and eight other African countries.

National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Emergency Management Authority (NCEMA) said late on Wednesday it was lifting the ban on those who had visited certain African countries in the previous 14 days, imposed due to the Omicron Covid-19 variant.

The other countries are Tanzania, Republic of Congo, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

Those travelling from African countries will have to obtain a negative Covid-19 PCR test 48 hours prior to departure and a negative rapid-PCR test at the departure airport.

Passengers will also be tested on arrival.

Those travelling from Uganda, Ghana and Rwanda will also have to take the three tests.

The changes come into affect at 2:30 pm Saturday.



Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.