Thursday, 26 November 2020 04:43

Senate rejects Southwest nominee for Consumer Protection Commission, confirms 7 others

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Senate yesterday confirmed appointments of seven nominees to Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (FCCPC), just as it rejected Mrs Yinka Osoba Akpata as Executive Commissioner to represent South-west on the commission.

Confirmation of the nominees followed consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Trade and Investment.

Chairman of the Committee, Francis Adenigba Fadahunsi (PDP- Osun East), in his presentation said that the panel recommended Akpata’s rejection as a result of her failure to appear before the Committee for screening.

The nominees confirmed are: Emeka Nwakpa, Chairman (South-East); Wakili Abdullahi Ahmed, Non-Executive Commissioner (North-West); Adamu Ahmed Abdullahi, Executive Commissioner (North-East); Babatunde Irukera, and Executive Vice Chairman/CEO (North-Central).

Others include Ben Obi Nwoye, Non-Executive Commissioner (South-East); Theophilus Oyebiyi, Non-Executive Commissioner (North-Central); and Ayang Francis Eyam, Non-Executive Commissioner (South-South).

Meanwhile, the upper chamber has forwarded six confirmation requests by President Muhammadu Buhari to relevant committees for further legislative work.

President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, during plenary referred the President’s request for the confirmation of the Chairman and Members of the National Commission for Persons with Disabilities to the Committee on Youths and Sports.