Saturday, 26 September 2020 05:44

FG orders deportation of Egyptians, Sri Lankans, French national over immigration violations

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Federal government has approved deportation of 10 Egyptians and 7 Sri-Lankans.

Public relations officer, Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS), Mr Sunday James, disclosed this in a statement on Friday.

James said Mr Rauf Aregbesola, minister of interior, had signed the deportation order in pursuant to section 45, subsection 2, section 46, subsection 1 and section 47, subsection 1 of Nigeria Immigration Act 2015.

He said the 10 Egyptians had violated the conditions for their entry and the minister had ordered their deportation with immediate effect.

“Seven Sri-Lankans jailed for petroleum product related offences after serving their jail terms were ordered by the court to be deported to their country as well,” he said.

“The minister also signed the deportation order of one Ali Mahamat Taher to France and one Kasinathan Ramasamy to India found to be involved in activities violating the conditions of their entry into Nigeria.

“Taher was found to be engaged in activities capable of undermining the security of a friendly neighbouring country to Nigeria in Maiduguri, Borno state.

“While Ramasamy was found working as a shop attendant in Kano.”

Comptroller-general, Mr Muhammad Babandede, had directed all migrants in the country to comply with the laws guiding their entry into the country following the resumption of international flight.


The Cable