Sunday, 31 May 2020 04:57

Buhari reconstitutes NNPC board

Rate this item
(0 votes)

President Muhammadu Buhari on Saturday, approved the reconstitution of the Board of Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), after the expiration of the term of the board members appointed in 2016.

Special Adviser to the President, Media and Publicity, Mr Femi Adesina, disclosed this in a public statement on Saturday.

Members of the new Board are: Mohammed Lawal (North West), Tajudeen Umar (North East), Adamu Mahmood Attah (North Central), Magnus Abe (South South), Stephen Dike (South East), and  Pius Akinyelure (South West).

The new board will be in place for three years.

Recall that NewsScroll on Saturday reported the death of the immediate past Group Managing Director of NNPC, Mr Maikanti Baru.

His demise was disclosed by the current Group Managing Director of the NNPC, Mr Mele Kyari, via his verified Twitter handled.

Kyari said, “My brother, my friend and my mentor, Maikanti Kachalla Baru, immediate past GMD of NNPC died late last night.

“He was of exemplary character and disposition. May Allah forgive him and have mercy upon him.”