APC wins Balyesa gov election with landslide

David Lyon David Lyon

All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate in Bayelsa State, Mr David Lyon, has been declared winner of Bayelsa State 2019 governorship election.

The declaration was made Monday morning by Mr Faraday Orumwese, Vice Chancellor of University of Benin and the returning officer in the election.

The returning officer announced that Lyon polled 352,552 votes to defeat Mr Duoye Diri of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 143, 172 votes.

Total number of registered voters was announced as 922,562 and the number of accredited voters was put at 517,883.

In the results announced for Ekeremo local government, the number of registered voters was announced as 125,189 while accredited voters were 41,423. In the local government, APC won by polling 21,489 votes while the PDP polled 18,344 votes.

In Southern Ijaw local government, APC candidate polled 124,803 votes to defeat his closest rival in PDP who polled 4,898 votes. APC candidate hails from the local government.

Lyon also defeated Diri in Nembe by polling 83,041 votes. Diri, on his part, polled 874 in the local government.

In Kolokuma/Opokuma, APC had 8,934 votes while PDP had 15,360.

In Sagbama, Diri of PDP polled 60,339 votes to beat Lyon who polled 7831.

In Ogbia, PDP polled 13,763 votes while APC polled 58,016 votes.

In Yenagoa, APC candidate polled 24,607 votes while PDP polled 19,184 votes.

The total number of votes cast was put at 505,884; rejected votes were 6,333; and number of valid votes were put at 499,511.

“That Lyon David of APC having satisfied the requirement of the law is hereby declared winner and returned elected,” Orumwese said in his declaration earlier this morning.



Rate this item
(0 votes)