APC group kicks against Ajimobi for supporting Gbajabiamala as Reps Speaker

Daniel Agbolade, Ibadan

A group of youth in All Progressives Congress (APC) in Oyo state has kicked against the directive of Governor Abiola Ajimobi, that House of Representatives  members-elect in the state should support Mr Femi Gbajabiamila, for the position of Speaker,  against the wish of the state to produce the next Speaker.

The group in a statement issued by Messers Adetunji Yaqub and Oluseyi Michael, said  the directive was not only a bad decision but a further demonstration of his disdain for the growth of internal democracy in the party and the state.

It would be recalled that Mr Ajimobi had at a private meeting held on Sunday at his Oluyole, Ibadan residence, with some members-elect, directed them to support Gbajabiamila as Speaker in the 9th National Assembly.

But the group under the aegies of Itesiwaju Oyo, said it is quite absurd for Ajimobi to be spearheading how another state will  produce Speaker of the House of Representstives of the 9th National Assembly which has been zoned to South West by APC, stating that Oyo state has ranking lawmakers who are qualified to be Speaker.

The statement reads: “Oyo state has three high ranking lawmakers, including Mr Olajide Olatubosun from Saki, Mr Akeem Adeyemi from Oyo and Mr Segun Odebunmi from Surulere, who have also been enjoying maximum support from lawmakers  and stakeholders from other states to be Speaker.

"Mr Governor should be reminded that he was not lucky to win the state for the party at the last election which means the state need key position and appointments from the Federal  Government to maintain the balance.

"Lagos is already crowded with series of key appointments ranging from Minister, head of agencies and boards among others while  Oyo state has not been priviledged to enjoy one third  of this since its creation. We want to urge Ajimobi to have a rethink and consider the need to fight for the interest of Oyo state beyond May 29, 2019."

Rate this item
(0 votes)