APC wins Kwara Reps bye-election

Candidate of All Progressives Congress, Mr Raheem Olawuyi, was on Saturday declared winner of Ekiti/Irepodun/Isin/Oke-Ero Federal Constituency bye-election held across the four councils in Kwara.

Returning Officer for the election, Mr Abimbola Adesoji, while declaring the result at Irepodun Local Government Secretariat in Omu-Aran, said Olawuyi polled 21,236 to emerge winner.

He defeated his closest rival, Mr Saheed Damilare of Peoples Democratic Party, who polled 18,095.

Abimbola, who is of Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, said Olawuyi having scored the highest number of votes in the election was declared winner.

Other contestants in the election were Mr Femi Ona-Ara of Labour Party, Mr Ajadi Olayemi of Peoples Party of Nigeria as well as Olaniyan Ayorinde of Unity Party of Nigeria.

Abimbola gave the total number of registered voters as 168,707, accredited voters as 41,185, total valid votes as 39,599, total number of rejected votes as 1,331 and total number of votes cast as 40,930.


Rate this item
(0 votes)