We are leaving APC – Nyako

Abdu-Azeez Nyako Abdu-Azeez Nyako

Mr Abdul-Azeez Nyako, a senator representing Adamawa Central Senatorial District, said he was preparing with the teeming supporters of his father, former governor Murtala Nyako to quit Nigeria’s ruling APC due to marginaliation.

Nyako made the declaration while addressing his supporters in Yola.

Nyako said they were ”completely marginalised” in the just concluded ward, local government and state congresses held in Adamawa State. He said ‘even his father, Murtala Nyako “lost control of his ward in Mayo-Belwa local government.”

He said reconciliatory talks between APC leadership and aggrieved members of ‘New PDP’ a faction within APC, was just a ruse.

“We have no option than to go, but we are still discussing the party to move into with our entire structure. I have spoken with Mr Jerry Gana in SDP. I also spoke with Mr Attahiru Bafarawa and fixed an appointment for him with Nyako. Bafarawa wants us to return to PDP.

“On Thursday, I went to Abeokuta and sat (down) with (former president) Obasanjo about ADC. He directed me to see Mr Oyinlola who assured us that we will be absorbed with our structures if we join the party. I also spoke with Mr Kwankwaso (former Kano governor) before the congresses.”

Nyako said that Kwankwaso spoke about ”a new party coming up.”

“I was given the party’s constitution about a month ago, it’s a new party expected to be approved soon with four others by INEC,” Nyako said.

He said that he was happy they were leaving APC ”before it’s too late.”

“We have done this before, when we left PDP to form APC and this time around by the grace of God, our movement will not be in vain,” Nyako said.

The older Nyako, the former governor, is one of the leaders of the ‘New PDP,’ a faction in APC which has complained of marginalisation.

‘New PDP’ recently terminated further discussions with the presidency on its grievances, saying it had lost confidence in President Buhari and APC leadership.

Members of New PDP all joined APC from PDP in the build up to the 2015 elections. The members include Senate President Bukola Saraki, Speaker Yakubu Dogara and Kwankwaso.


Rate this item
(0 votes)