FG invites ex-SDP govs, others for June 12 Democracy Day

Federal government has invited all former governors elected on the platform of Social Democratic Party (SDP) in 1993 to the occasion of the historic designation of June 12 as Democracy Day and National Holiday.

A statement signed last night by Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr Boss Mustapha, also recognised former members of National Executive Committee (NEC) of the party, including states chairmen and secretaries as at June 12, 1993, for the role they played in the struggle to entrench democratic ethos in the country.

Also included on the guest list were Mr Humphrey Nwosu invited as Chairman of the electoral body that superintended the freest election in Nigeria in 1993.

The list also had former Senate Presidents, Mr Iyorchia Ayu and Mr Ameh Ebute and Speaker of House of Representatives, Mr Agunwa Anekwe.

President Buhari, who on Wednesday declared June 12 as Democracy Day will confer a posthumous national honour of Grand Commander of the Federal Republic (GCFR), on Mr M.K.O. Abiola, presumed winner of the Presidential election in 1993 next Tuesday.

The statement by the SGF also said, Late Chief Abiola’s running mate in the election, Ambassador Babagana Kingibe will be decorated as a recipient of Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON), while human rights activist and fiery legal luminary, Mr Gani Fawehinmi will be posthumously invested as Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON).

The investiture ceremony will hold at Banquet Hall, State House, Abuja at 10.00 am.

Senate President Bukola Saraki, Speaker Yakubu Dogora, principal officers of the National Assembly, members of the Federal Executive Council and all state governors, will be joined by Mr Bola Tinubu, Nobel Laureate, Mr Wole Soyinka, Mr Femi Falana, Mr Bisi Akande, Ms. Ayo Obe, DG News Agency of Nigeria, Mr Bayo Onanuga, Mr Kunle Ajibade, Mr Nosa Igiebor, Mr Kayode Komolafe, Mr Frank Kokori and Director General, Hope ‘93, Mr Janathan Zwingina.


Rate this item
(0 votes)